Faculty » Community-Engaged Learning Fellows

MSU Community-Engaged Learning Fellows

The Community-Engaged Learning Faculty Fellows program is a 3 week-long faculty development program that provides an opportunity for selected faculty and staff members to integrate community-engaged learning into their teaching, research and public service work, while becoming recognized campus leaders in community-engaged learning pedagogy and community engagement. The program aims to integrate the philosophy, pedagogy, and process of community-engaged learning into the MSU academic environment. The fellowship includes a $1000 faculty development award after completing the program. The proposed program was adapted with permission from the faculty fellows programs at University of Alabama and University of Georgia. Please click here to download the 2019 application package.

Community-Engaged Learning Fellows 2018-2019

The 2018-2019 CEL Fellows program took place in May 2018. Due to high interest, the inaugural class consisted of 15 members. Funding support from the Provost was essential in expanding the class size. Members spent 3 weeks learning ways to incorporate community-engaged learning into current or new courses. As part of the fellowship, each fellow received a $1000 stipend and submitted an application to have their courses designated as CEL. Fellows will teach their redesigned courses during the 2018-2019 year.

Ms. Silvina Lopez Barrera Ms. Silvina Lopez Barrera
Assistant Professor

School of Architecture
Dr. Wen-Hsing Cheng Dr. Wen-Hsing Cheng
Associate Professor

Department of Food Science, Nutrition, Health Promotion
Dr. Renee Clary Dr. Renee Clary

Department of Geosciences
Dr. Amelia Fox Dr. Amelia Fox

Department of Plant & Soil Sciences
Dr. Kristin Javorsky Dr. Kristin Javorsky
Assistant Professor

Department of Curriculum, Instruction & Special Education
Ms. Silvina Lopez Barrera Dr. Melanie Loehwing
Assistant Professor

Department of Communication
Ms. Christina Loftin Ms. Christina Loftin
Animal Health Technician

School of Veterinary Medicine
Dr. Dong Meng Dr. Dong Meng
Assistant Professor

Dave C. Swalm School of Chemical Engineering
Dr. Thessalia Merivaki Dr. Thessalia Merivaki
Assistant Professor

Department of Political Science and Public Administration
Ms. Suzanne Powney Ms. Suzanne Powney
Associate Professor

Department of Art
Dr. Angela Savage Dr. Angela Savage
Instructor& Director

Social Work – MSU Meridian
Dr. Holli Seitz Dr. Holli Seitz
Assistant Professor

Department of Communication
Dr. Ashley Vancil-Leap Dr. Ashley Vancil-Leap

Department of Sociology, Gender Studies Program
Ms. Kimberly Walters Ms. Kimberly Walters

Department of Mathematics & Statistics
Dr. Joe Witt Dr. Joe Witt
Associate Professor

Department of Philosophy & Religion

Learn more about CEL Fellows 2018 class here.